Reviews

Fabulous Guest House - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rockwood House. The room we had was beautifully furnished. Lovely view of Embsay Crag. The host, Jean was very friendly. She made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was fantastic. Great choice. There is a very good pub a few yards down the road serving good value meals. Excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewer:Terence H | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


very pleasant - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and welcoming. Clean comfortable, warm, room and ensuite.Facilities to make hot drinks, wi fi. Delicious breakfasts.Free parking across the road. Good pub across the road for local beers and good value home made food. A lovely relaxing stay for 2 mature female friends.

Reviewer:Ruth H | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


A fantastic couple of days! - Rating 5/5

We were staying in the area for the first time and could not have wished for a better place to stay. The hosts were very welcoming and made brilliant suggestions as to what to see and how to get the most from our limited time.I would recommend Rockwood to anyone. Our room was extremely comfortable and the view from our window was superb. We will definitely be revisiting.

Reviewer:Paul G | Sun 2nd Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

Rockwood is a lovely comfortable B and B to stay at. The owners Jean and Robert are very hospitable. They do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. They provide a lovely breakfast and offer options. The free carpark across the road is a bonus. Thoroughly recommend!!!

Reviewer:Barbara A | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


As good as ever ! - Rating 5/5

An excellent 2 night stay in the family room.Comfy bed,spotless bathroom and fabulous breakfast to set me up for the day at a local event. Nothing was any trouble even the early start to both Saturday and sunday.Will be back next year !

Reviewer:Claire L | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Weekend break in Yorkshire- Rating 4/5

Warm and welcoming hosts, comfortable room and great location to start exploring from. Tasty home cooked breakfast.

Reviewer:Paula S | Wed 9th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Lovely break - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our two night break-a warm welcome comfy beds and tasty breakfast.Very handy for Skipton and easy access to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

Reviewer:June E | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Highly recommended stay - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay overnight. We received a warm welcome on arrival into a very pleasant home with an excellent breakfast provided in the morning.

Reviewer:Gillian T | Sat 24th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Gorgeous location & excellent accommodation- Rating 5/5

A gorgeous location & nice property. Lovely, clean and spacious. Great nights sleep & very nice breakfast!... Would certainly recommend Rockwood House.

Reviewer:Tony w | Fri 9th Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Unbelievable- Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed at rockwood house for 1 night. We were given a very warm welcome by the lady of the house. She explained the rules and showed us the room we were staying in. At first glance the room was impeccable. Absolutely stunning with a gorgeous view! The bathroom was spotless and everything was fresh! The breakfast was amazing and was cooked to perfection! I will definitely be staying here every time i visit!!

Reviewer:Lauren C | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Malham trip - Rating 4/5

Good base to tour North Yorkshire from

Reviewer:Wayne C | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Two nights in Embsay. The Room in this nice house was clean and nice. Good breakfast in a pleasant atmosphere. Really nice talks with the host and interesting infomations about tourist hotspots. I will come back in this B& B. The landscape is so amazing, soft and typical english. I love it.

Reviewer:Sten S | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Rockwood House - Rating 5/5

Nice house, larger than it looks from outside. Decent sized room, clean and comfortable with a very good breakfast and free parking in a public car park opposite. This is in the village of Embsay, about 2 miles from Skipton, altho there is a good pub across the road serving food. A relaxing, quiet stay with friendly owners. Recommended.

Reviewer:Regula B | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay an the way back from Leeds Bradford Airport - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable guest house with a friendly welcome and tasty breakfast, the added bonus of a friendly local pub within 150 metres walk.

Reviewer:Victor H | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight on business. Lovely b& b in a great location minutes from Skipton town centre. Very clean spacious room and excellent cooked breakfast. Lovely hosts. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Carole W | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I can thoughrally recommend Rockwood House, friendly, excellent accommodation in a brilliant convenient location. Would definitely book again

Reviewer:Alan R | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Edding stopover - Rating 5/5

We stayed here in the summer of 2016.Our hosts were extraordinarily helpful after we had severe traffic issues and arrived very, very late.Nothing was too much trouble, despite the late hour of our arrival.The room we stayed in was super clean.Breakfast was great too.We wouldn't hesitate to use Rockwood House again.Very many thanks to our hosts for their care and diligence.

Reviewer:Maximilian W | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Good b and b - Rating 5/5

Friendly host and clean rooms with comfortable beds.Great breakfast!

Reviewer:Catherine S | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Hayley - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weekend staying at Rockwood. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was freshly made with plenty of choice. Beautiful location with lots to explore in the local area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Hayley L | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Good overnight stop - Rating 4/5

Nice people lovely roomlocal pub very good.One little downside was a weak shower but everything else made up for that

Reviewer:Philip C | Thu 12th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Super Hosts, Good Location, Great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

The Hosts were super hospitable;went out of their way to cater to our needs for Halal Breakfasts, and also providing tips for places to visits, with printed maps.Rooms were comfortable, ample parking, and good location.

Reviewer:ARIFFIN M | Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


A comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome and everything was provided. The room was comfortable and breakfast first class.

Reviewer:Edmund W | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


A perfect rest place of a High all round standard - Rating 5/5

A lovely well kept welcoming home.Lovely bedrooms, nice crisp bedding clean and well decorated throughout.Nothing lacking at breakfast, nothing too much trouble.Lots of choice, perfect for an overnight stay. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Fiona W | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room with ensuite but minimum shower aids.Excellent breakfast .Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Gordon W | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


fabulous family room! - Rating 5/5

Rockwood House is a gem set in the jewels of the Yorkshire Dales. The beautifully decorated family room afforded splendid views over the countryside and was a perfect place for our one night stop. Breakfast was lovely and for just over £100, Rockwood House offered value without cutting down on comfort and taste. Our hosts were friendly and made our stay even more pleasant.

Reviewer:Stephen M | Tue 18th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Great locatiopn for access to the Dales - Rating 5/5

An ideal gateway to the Yorkshire Dales. Rockwood House is run by a charming and helpful couple. The room was spacious, bright and comfortable. Breakfast was a free choice, good produce and most enjoyable.

Reviewer:Peter C | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Week end with family very great - Rating 5/5

A warm and pleasant reception saw we were to arrive late. The room is comfortable, breakfast is very extensive and the house is very nice. Thank you again for your understanding for our late arrival due to our flight and the closed highway. Best regards

Reviewer:Marie Ange C | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Rock wood house - Rating 5/5

Second visit. Very comfortable, very welcoming and lovely breakfast. Close to Skipton so ideal for exploring the Dales. Thank you.

Reviewer:Jennifr L | Thu 8th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A good gateway to the Dales - Rating 5/5

We had a short stay at Rockwood House and found it a very pleasant experience, with comfortable bed and room and ample and tasty breakfasts. The owners were always helpful even when we had a flat battery and they helped to start the car. Well worth a visit !!!

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfortable Accomodation in Quiet Village - Rating 5/5

Comfortable accommodation in a quiet rural village location with a friendly host, fresh milk for tea/coffee and good breakfast. Parking opposite and a pub just down the road serving good food at reasonable prices. A good base to explore the area.

Reviewer:Brian L | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Rockwood House B & B - Rating 5/5

I recommend Rockwood House completely. The help and care to customer satisfaction was second to none.

Reviewer:Mrs. MargaretC | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely room - Rating 4/5

One adult and two teenagers in a lovely room with large bathroom. Good breakfast and friendly welcoe.

Reviewer:Rosemary M | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Feedback - Rating 4/5

Very friendly owners Jean and Robert, lovely clean house, in lovely little village. The only negative thing to say is, with the windows open at night because it was really warm weather, is the noise of the traffic, and the shower was not powerful, and the temperature was a bit temperamental.

Response

The road/street through our village is rural. Generally there is very little traffic at night though recently there has been filming at night for a feature film, this is beyond our control. Sorry it is not a power shower!

Reviewer:Karen M | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Cosy and friendly - Rating 4/5

Our welcome was a little terse but overall we were made welcome. The ground floor front room suffered from traffic and inconsiderate guest noise but we were overall cosy and we felt comfortable;our breakfasts were excellent

Reviewer:JOHN B | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Mini break.- Rating 4/5

The B & B itself is situated a couple of miles outside Skipton in the village of Embsay.When we arrived, we were greeted with a friendly welcome. We were immediately shown to our Family room, which they had forgotten to make up the single bed! Non the less, it was a very comfortable, clean room with a large en suit.A hearty breakfast was served the following morning accompanied by Mrs. offering ideas for our stay.My wife briefly met Mr. who again was very nice.All in all, very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Tony T | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Quiet weekend - Rating 5/5

Easy to find and free parking opposite. Owners friendly and helpful. Room was fine. Pub nearby and short drive into Skipton. Good breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Overall very good and would stay again. Shower not the best but we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:COLIN H | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


13 to16 July- Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay. Very welcoming. Comfotable room, lovely breakfast. Lovely village, great meals at pub across road. We will definitely return an recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Christine O | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


best holiday in UK - Rating 5/5

all services are perfect !

Reviewer:Annamaria P | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent in all respects. - Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable room. Friendly and helpful hosts. Best of all - a little jug of REAL milk on request. That's worth several stars in my view!

Reviewer:Wendy B | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Thanks - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable with convenient ample parking.Quiet with comfortable beds, very clean and fresh, good breakfast, served by friendly efficient hostess.

Reviewer:David M | Wed 6th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place - Rating 4/5

Excellent location,comfortable room.

Reviewer:Patricia C | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


* - Rating 5/5

Very nice and welcoming house! The village is very quiet with lots of pleasant countryside around, and a short walk to Skipton.

Reviewer:Ms. Emma S | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Rockwood B and B - Rating 4/5

Lovely view of the dales from my window. The room was clean to a level one would expect to find at any corporate chain hotels. The owners were very friendly and I would have tried the full English breakfast if I had more time, as this time was a business trip for me. My only tiny reservation was that there wasn't any complimentary soap in the bathroom. I would certainly stay again as I want to try the breakfast next time.Can only give 4 stars prior to having breakfast next time. Great location for a short walking holiday. There is also an attractive pub opposite and 23 hours free parking opposite the B and B.

Response

Apologies for lack of soap. Oversight on our part - you should have mentioned it - we normally provide.

Reviewer:Richard P | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


2 night stay Rockwood House - Rating 5/5

Great place, wonderful location.Hosts could not have been more helpful,Highly recommended

Reviewer:Bob H | Thu 16th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Gem of a B&B - Rating 5/5

Great location,good wifi, clean and comfortable room, handy pub and full English breakfast.Recommend.

Reviewer:David M | Fri 10th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Rockwood is just the ticket - Rating 5/5

One overnight stay, travelled from Midlands to see Dr Feelgood perform in Ilkeley Yorks. This Lille b& b has a brilliant location. Room was good size and spotless. Great night sleep. Shower was iffy, not too warm but I tolerated. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Great service too. Would I stay again? Heck yes

Response

Geoff you must not have let the Hot side run long enough!!!!!

Reviewer:Geoff W | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Great location - easy to park - lovely room - friendly welcome and great breakfast - would highly recommend and it will definitely be my first choice next time I am in the area!!

Reviewer:Sandra D | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Fresh Lodgings in Emsby - Rating 5/5

Thankyou to Jean for a prompt and comfortable stay.The room to the front of the lodgings was light, fresh and very comfortable. It was great to have a parking space in the public carpark right across the road. A lovely view of the hilltop through lace covered window added a peaceful feel to the room. Liz Western Australia

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Wed 4th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Rock.wood house - Rating 5/5

Quite surprised to read your e.mail asking for a review.We are not booked in until Sunday 27 March 2016. Can you please confirm that you still have this booking. Thank you.

Reviewer:Ian D | Wed 9th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Horse riding
  • Vegetarian

Contact Details

Rockwood House
14 Main Street Embsay
Skipton
North Yorkshire
BD23 6RE